IFAC System Structure and Control  Life Time Achievement Award 2022

Vladimir Kucera 
  • Ph.D. Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences in 1970.
  • Professor, Czech Technical University (CTU) in Prague

Research focus on linear systems, the Youla-Kucera parameterization of all stabilizing controllers; the polynomial equation approach to discrete control synthesis; the solution of the decoupling problem for linear MIMO systems. 

IFAC: Council Member (1987-1993), Vice President (1993-1999), President Elect (1999-2002), President (2002-2005)

IEEE Fellow since 1996, Life Fellow IEEE 2017

IFAC Fellow 2007, Life Advisor IFAC 2008

Michel Fliess
  • Doctorat d’état Université Paris VII 1972
  • Directeur de Recherche émérite CNRS, LIX, Ecole Polytechnique

Research focus : System structure and identification, flatness-based and model-free control design via algebraic methods

1987: Michel-Monpetit award (French Academy of Sciences)

1991: Silver Medal from the CNRS.

2007: Jacques-Louis Lions award (French Academy of Sciences)

2010: Patent-Innovation award (Ecole Polytechnique)

2015: Ampère award (French Academy of Sciences)

IPC Chair IFAC TDS 1998, General Chair IFAC NOLCOS 92

IFAC Young Author Award

The Organizing Committee of the Joint IFAC SSSC/TDS/LPVS Conference is pleased to announce the IFAC Young Author Award, one award for each of the SSSC, TDS and LPVS conference. The award is supported by the IFAC Technical Committee 2.2. “Linear Control Systems” to recognize excellence of the papers whose main contributor (first author) is a student. The selection for the award is based on the originality, clarity, and potential impact on practical applications of a paper presented in the 8th Symposium on System Structure & Control (SSSC), 17th Workshop on Time Delay Systems (TDS) and 5th Workshop on Linear Parameter Varying Systems (LPVS), and all student nominees are expected to present their paper at the joint IFAC SSSC/TDS/LPVS conference 2022, onsite.

Nominations for this award are open August 18, 2022 to September 1, 2022 and must be made via ifac.papercept.net. To make a nomination, follow the link “Submit a Contribution to SSSC/TDS/LPVS 2022” on the main ifac.papercept.net page.


The primary (first) author must be a student at the time of the IFAC SSSC/TDS/LPVS 2022 deadline for the initial paper submission. The nominated paper must have been accepted for presentation at the joint IFAC SSSC/TDS/LPVS 2022. Extended abstracts and/or discussion papers submitted to the Workshop are not eligible for nomination.


Nominations must be made by the graduate student’s advisor. The nominator should complete the “Young Author EvenatAward Nomination Form_Student status” without modifying the format, nor changing the font and/or size. After completing it, this file should be converted to PDF and uploaded via ifac.papercept.net submission site.

Nominations are limited to one paper per advisor. The nominee must present the paper at the joint IFAC SSSC/TDS/LPVS 2021, onsite. The finalists and winner(s) of the award are decided by a committee organized by the IPC Chairs/Co-Chairs and General Chair/Co-Chair of the joint IFAC SSSC/TDS/LPVS conference. The members of this Award Selection Committee are (alphabetic order): Gabor OROSZ (USA), Lacra PAVEL (Canada, Chair), Roland TOTH (Netherlands), Elena ZATTONI (Itay). 

Presentation of Award

Each of the three award recipients will receive a certificate. The award will be announced and presented by the Award Selection Committee Chair at the SSSC/TDS/LPVS Award Ceremony.